Review: Macadamia Healing Oil Treatment & Osmo Berber Oil

Last month, All the Pretty Jars (great blog, check it out!) had a giveaway as a way to say “Thank You” to her readers.  I was super excited to find that I had been chosen as one of the winners!!

And what did I win?

Two mini bottles (10ml) of hair oil products:

Macadamia Healing Oil Treatment

Osmo Berber Oil with Argan Oil

I was pretty excited, as I have never tried either of these products!

So first lets start with Macadamia Healing Oil Treatment:

Pros:

  • smells good – this has a rich, earthy scent that I really enjoy
  • smooths hair, tames frizz
  • makes hair shiny
  • leaves hair feeling silky and soft

Cons:

  • contains silicone – this is not a huge con, but because of how my skin reacts to silicone, I MUST wash my hair before bed any day that I use this or I will have cystic-type acne on my face from where my hair & pillow touch my face during the night.

And onto the Osmo Berber Oil with Argan Oil:

Pros:

  • smells good – this has a light, fruity scent that is very different from the Macadamia oil, but still very pleasant
  • smooths hair, tames frizz
  • makes hair shiny
  • leaves hair feeling silky and soft

Cons:

  • contains silicone – same issues (for me) as above

Conclusions:  I really like both of these oils.  The Macadamia has a thicker consistency than the Osmo, but they work very similarly.  Osmo claims on the bottle that their product will reduce drying time, but I do not blow dry my hair so I cannot comment on that.    Both of these leave hair looking shiny and healthy while keeping frizz away.  While I like the fragrance of both products, I personally prefer the scent of the Macadamia Healing Oil Treatment.  As mentioned above, they both contain silicone, so for someone like me whose skin is very sensitive to that ingredient, it’s a bit like playing with fire.  But I like to live on the edge a little and will continue to use these! haha!  I just have to make sure I wash my hair before bed to prevent the product from building up on my pillow and causing problems for my skin.

I am really glad to have had the opportunity to try these out!  A big THANK YOU to Mamifi at All the Pretty Jars!  🙂

Thanks for stopping by!  Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “Review: Macadamia Healing Oil Treatment & Osmo Berber Oil

  1. mothernaturessnuggery says:

    Great post! Thank you for the ping back 🙂 I thought the same about drying time as I don’t blow dry my hair either! I know what you mean about the silicone, for me it’s the fragrance that’s a hit or a miss as it always irritates my scalp. I’m away to check out some of your other posts & check out ‘All The Pretty Jars’ too!! 😀

  2. […] Review: Macadamia Healing Oil Treatment & Osmo Berber Oil (truebeautyu.com) […]

  3. LifeOfBun says:

    Howdy! I passed you an award. It’s up to you if you do something with it of course, no hard feelings if you don’t! I’m kind of opposed to silicone as well :/ just a temporary fix-up for the hair.

  4. Jenny says:

    I don’t have acne but I used Osmo Berber Oil for three days and it left me with painful cystic acne wherever my hair had brushed against my face (cheek and jawline).
    Eight weeks on I still have 4 painful cysts. I will never touch an argan-oil based product again (it did make my hair lovely – just ruined my face!).

    • TrueBeautyU says:

      Yikes!! I’m sorry to hear that! 😦 It’s the silicone that causes cystic acne for me. I love using argan oil on my skin as a moisturizer! It’s interesting how different people can react so differently to ingredients!! I hope your skin clears up quickly! I know how frustrating that can be!

  5. Valerie says:

    I LOVE love love the Macadamia healing oil treatment, but have yet to try the Osmo oil. Great post 🙂

  6. […] Review: Macadamia Healing Oil Treatment & Osmo Berber Oil […]

  7. mamifi says:

    I’m so excited to see this post! And glad you like them even though the have that silicones in them. I also prefer Macadamia but mostly for the scent.. Osmo works better for me but the scent is way too sweet for me. You may want to try pure arghan oil if your concerned with silicones, I know you can get it from some food stores or a brand raw gaia.

Leave a Reply

