The Beauty of Summer Squash

Summer squash from my garden!!

Summer squash comes in several varieties including yellow, crookneck, and (my personal favorite) zucchini.  They are part of the cucumber/melon family and have been shown to have many health benefits and are a great source of carotenoids and antioxidants that are so good for your skin!  (Remember our mini bio lesson on antioxidants?)  Summer squash are also high in vitamin C, folate, beta-carotene, and fiber.  Click here for more on the health benefits of summer squash!

When I was young, my mom would make fried squash and zucchini – YUM!  Yes, I am a southern girl! 🙂

But here are two of my favorite ways to prepare these yummy veggies for a great health (and beauty) bonus!

Grill it!

I LOVE grilled squash and zucchini and it is super simple to make!  Just slice the ends off and slice it in half long ways.  Then lightly coat it with a little extra virgin olive oil and sprinkle it with salt and pepper.  Then put it on a hot grill for a few minutes on each side until it starts to brown.  Take it off the grill and let it cool for a moment, then enjoy!!

Pizza, anyone?

Zucchini pizza??!!  YES, my friends!!!  This may be my new favorite way to eat zucchini, even my kids love it! 🙂  I learned this one from my cousin!

For this recipe, I have found that it’s better to have a larger zucchini.  Again, slice off the ends, and then continue to slice it into circles about 1/4 inch thick.  Lightly coat with olive oil and grill or broil for about 3 minutes.  Then take them off the heat and add your favorite spaghetti sauce, top with mozzarella cheese and your favorite toppings and put back into the oven (or grill) until cheese it melted and bubbly.  Again, wait until they have cooled for a moment before eating so you don’t burn yourself.  Trust me, it will be hard to wait!!!!  These are so good!

Do you have any favorite squash or zucchini recipes??  I would love to hear them!!  (Who am I kidding?  I would love to TASTE them, so please share!!)  🙂

I hope everyone is having a wonderful summer!  Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “The Beauty of Summer Squash

  1. LifeOfBun says:

    Looks goood! I like to just grill my zucchini with some garlic, rosemary and pepper. It’s all I know haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

